Tuesday, February 1, 2011


Federal Territory is a collective of three territories namely Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan governed directly by the federal government of Malaysia. Federal Territory Day, or Hari Wilayah Persekutuan as it is known in Malay, falls on 1 February and celebrates the anniversary of the formation of the Federal Territory in 1974.

Wilayah Persekutuan stamps

While this celebration is officially declared for 1 February, the moment it marks actually took place four days earlier, on 28 January, 1974, when the Sultan of Selangor and the Yang di-Pertuan Agong (head of state) signed an agreement to formally separate Kuala Lumpur from the state of Selangor and place it under a seperate Federal rule.

Wilayah Persekutuan (Federal Territories) in Malaysia - 
W.P Kuala Lumpur, W.P. Putrajaya, and W.P Labuan

This day is declared a holiday in the Federal Territory, where visitors will see the streets transformed by parades and fireworks, with various cultural activities and fascinating exhibitions happening in a whole host of different locations.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...