Thursday, April 5, 2012


Two pictures below are some of my Malayan stamps collection

The first Straits Settlements stamps were issued in 1867, when the colonies were finally under direct control of London, instead of Britain's office in Calcutta. Straits Settlements-inscribed stamps were issued until the early 1940s; the colony itself ceased to exist in 1946.

Starting in 1900 and lasting until 1935, the four states of Negri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, and Selangor united as the Federated Malay States. In 1935, the four states each began printing its own stamps again.

From 1948 to 1963, eleven Malay areas — Johore, Kedah, Kelantan, Malacca, Negri Sembilan, Pahang, Penang, Perak, Perlis, Selangor, and Trengganu — united as the Federation of Malaya.

Malaya achieved independence on 31 August 1957. Malaya united with Sabah, Sarawak and Singapore on 16 September 1963, being added to give the new country the name Malaysia.

1 comment:

  1. it's nice, but not really 'organised' :D

    enjoy my blog :
    and search for the label : collecting :)



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...